Officials said that with Adoor Gopalakrishnan's acclaimed Malayalam movie "Nizhalkkuthu" ready for telecast this Sunday and followed by Umesh Nayak Kulkarni's "Deool", Dnyanesh Moghe's "Digant" and Jahar Kanungo's "Nisshabd", Doordarshan has readied an year long fare of films.

Speaking at a press conference Doordarshan DG Tripurari Sharan said the selected films have either been the winner of Swarna Kamal Award for the Best Feature Film of the Year, National Award winner for Best Direction or Winner of Rajat Kamal Award for the Best Feature Film in any Indian language.

Apart from these the chosen films include those which have won the Indira Gandhi Award for the Best Film of a Director or films which have been selected for the Indian panorama of International Film Festival of India.
Doordarshan National Channel to Telecast 104 Award Winning Films

In addition films which have been invited to any of the festivals like the Cannes Film Festival, the Berlin Film Festival, Venice, Toronto, Locarno, London, Karlovy Vary, Nantes, Rotterdam, Fribourg, Munich, Busan, Hongkong, Tokyo, Rome and or Sydney Film Festivals have also been chosen.

Sharan said that the effort was to widen the choice of award winning films that Doordarshan offers.

He said those films which premiere on DD will be paid a royalty of Rs 25 lakh while Rs 15 lakh will be paid for other films.

Source: DD News